2016 Identities

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. [Proverbs 4:23]

New year, new me. At least in theory, right? We all know rules were made to broken, and New Year’s Resolutions are no different.  The problem is not the fact that we set unrealistic goals, but we lack the motivation and clear steps to actually enact these changes. We don’t believe that we can actually change, so instead we settle for comfort. Excuses of “I’m a broke college student; I can’t afford to [insert healthy habit here]” or “I don’t have time” clutter our mind and fill us with reservations the next time we write new resolutions.

One of my mentors introduced me to the concept of writing out our identities every year, rather than resolutions, as these identities remind us of who we are, and who we aspire to be. Rather than looking at an endless list of what not to do (which really is the equivalent of a list of things to do), a list of identities reorients my entire mentality for the day.

What is my identity then?

I am…

I am someone who seeks after God in all aspects of her life, and not only in difficult times.

I give thanks to God before every meal for all that He has blessed me with and for His grace and mercy.

I am in the world, but not of the world.

I am not someone who conforms to the patterns of the world (Romans 12:2).

I am who I am because of people around me, but I am my own person.

I am an emotional person.

I am not afraid to express how I feel.

I am a listener.

I always make time for someone in need.

I am someone who chooses to love others unconditionally.

I am a friend who shows love through quality time and serving others in any capacity they need.

I am on a journey of self-discovery, of everything I am and everything I am not.

I am someone who steps outside her comfort zone to gain new experiences and perspective.

I am not someone who makes excuses.

I am a learner, finding meaning and lessons from my mistakes and failures.

I am someone who does not give up.

I keep trying and persevering when I know something is worth it.

I never settle for anything less.

I am curious.

I never stop asking questions about myself, the world, and God.

I seek the truth, no matter the implications.

I am a dancer who does not expect perfection but, rather, passion.

I am child of God, free from any chains, fears, guilt, or shame.

I am saved by grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8).

 

I know who I am, and I am grateful for who I am.        

I know who He is, and I am grateful for who He is.

 

As you think, so shall you become. [Bruce Lee]

Leave a Reply

