Penny for Your Thoughts | No. 1

Thinking about my most recent life post, I can finally articulate why I believe in God. And not just believe in Him, but believe Him. There is a difference. Millions of Americans say they believe in God, which can mean they believe He exists or they believe He’s some distant power. To believe God is to know what He says is true, especially who He says He is, and what that means for your life.

I believe God is God of all because only He can give me true peace. When I live for myself, decisions are never easy. There’s so much doubt, so much potential regret because we know we can’t control everything and we have no idea how things will actually turn out. When I live for God, every decision I make for Him floods me with peace, a peace that can never be inherent in me because we were never meant to be at peace. All these desires in my heart, that He placed in my heart, simply roam free and unchecked when I rely on my own strength to navigate through them. He frees me from my base desires and fills me instead with a desire only for Him. God is a God of freedom through peace.

Why do you believe God? Or do you think you still just believe in Him? Let me know 🙂

2 thoughts on “Penny for Your Thoughts | No. 1

  1. I’m 18 years old and I think up until now I’ve been believing “in” God. However, now I am finding myself becoming more connected to him on a deeper level. I know that I NEED him and that I have to believe him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Justin Lee

    Lately I’ve been burdened to honestly engage in the Word. God has slayed me in the past with His Word and yet I still continuously forget the truth of Psalm 119:103, “How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth”. I do believe Him but I see that I’m being called to revisit and really digest the Bible that I might believe in what He’s actually saying and has been trying to say to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

