You Can’t Handle the Truth

Recently, I was contacted by a new website asking if I would be a contributor. As I’ve said before, I’m not an English major. I really have no idea how to write. My grammar is always terrible (but I suppose that’s what creates style, right?). So you can imagine my genuine surprise when someone told me they like my writing enough to want me to write for them.

One of my greatest concerns with deciding whether or not to become a contributor is with a larger platform comes a greater range of audience. As someone pointed out to me, I’d have to be okay with potentially getting hateful comments. So I started to wonder why, how could Christianity be offensive enough to warrant writing about?

The gospel is self-involving. The gospel is something that must change everything. If it doesn’t change everything, we’re still living as the lord of our own life. We are sinners. That is who we are, and we can’t escape that until Jesus comes back. No one likes to admit their mistakes, the things that make them feel like they’re not ‘good’ enough. The gospel is the most powerful truth in the world – Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come [2 Corinthians 5:17]. Truth, especially belief in that truth, demands action. But what if we don’t want to change our lives? What if the lives that we’re living are so comfortable and so fulfilling, in our own eyes? The only option then is to reject that truth, and everyone who believes and acts upon that truth that could threaten to rip apart the comfort of our self-indulging lives.

I’m still not sure what I’ll decide. All I know is following God means persecution. Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted [2 Timothy 3:12]. However, we do not have a high priest in Jesus who cannot understand us. If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you [John 15:18]. Let us never turn away from a challenge, but use anything and everything to bring glory back to God. He is worthy and worth it all.

 

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. [Romans 12:2]

Leave a Reply

