Penny for Your Thoughts | No. 2

And Jesus came and said to them, ‘All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.’ [Matthew 28:18-20]

One of the missionaries from my home church came back this past month. In the past, I thought everything he spoke about was great, I’d suddenly have a heart for other people out there in the world, but it would never last. My heart was the rocky soil, nothing could take root. But this time was different. As I talked to him and his wife about the world, especially countries in the 10/40 window (those most unreached by the gospel), I realized I couldn’t not go. What struck me the most was them saying how in one country especially, you’re constantly thinking about God because you know no one else is. How incredible that must be.

I told my parents last night that I was going to start evangelism training with our missionary’s organization, and that I was thinking of going on a mission this winter. They said no. I was appalled that my fellow Christians would say that. People who brought me to church week after week and always made sure I knew my priority was God above all were telling me that I couldn’t go on this mission. They were scared I would become a full-time missionary and live a hard life. As if my life wasn’t already going to be difficult considering my current plan of becoming a lawyer.

When it seems like God’s clear law conflicts, such as the Great Commission and honoring your parents, what do we do? What does it mean to honor your parents? Let us know in the comments below!

One thought on “Penny for Your Thoughts | No. 2

  1. Justin Lee

    I’d think it’s God prompting us to press into prayer and looking at our parents’ concerns from His perspective. Honoring our parents especially when it comes to difference in opinion means really looking into their own story and getting to know the full reasoning behind their certain perspective. And for something like missions, I would pray and consider to what extend God wants you to pursue this — balancing your other goals to become a lawyer, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

