1 Year | Thank You So Much

One year ago, I had a vision of creating a blog just to journal my spiritual life. I had no goals for my blogging at the time, I had no idea who would read it (if anyone at all), I had no idea what I would even write about every single week. A whole year later, I honestly still have no real goals for this blog, other than for God to use it to continue to reach people all over the world, people I’ve never met before. It’s such a beautiful thing to me that we can all connect in this way; you have no idea who I am, I have no idea who you are, but yet this connection that we do have now, through the blog, is all because we are united in Jesus Christ.

To anyone reading this post, thank you so much for your time. Really, you have no idea how much it means to me to have your support. I remember writing about a difficult time in my life a while back, and someone commented, wishing me all the best, and that really made my day. I am so grateful to God as well for giving me this opportunity to share His work in my life with the rest of the world. Perhaps I am sharing my testimony with more people than I thought was possible.

My theme picture for this blog has been a picture of the ocean, but since it’s the blog’s one-year anniversary today, I decided it was time for a change. The cityscape more aptly reflects the life I live, rather than the life I wish I lived (which is to live in San Diego and enjoy that beautiful ocean view every single day of my life). Moving to one of the largest cities in the world last year has changed everything about how I see people; I definitely understand how easy it is to succumb to the pressure of ambition and  romance and superficiality. In the city, it’s hard to hear yourself think. It’s hard to make the time to think, when you feel like everyone is passing by you and you feel like you can’t afford to have second thoughts about the fast-paced life you’re living.

Last week, I gave a speech about this very topic. I took a public speaking class this quarter, which is, by far, the best class I’ve taken, and a class I think should actually be mandatory for everyone. The final speech we were supposed to give was meant to be persuasive, and I thought for the entire quarter what I should speak on with this one chance I would have to have the undivided attention of thirty people. At first, I didn’t want to do anything too  controversial, such as talking about my faith, since I didn’t want to risk my grade. After praying about this for half the quarter, I decided that even failing would be worth it if I could at least get people to consider thinking about their lives. So for seven minutes, I talked to my class, filled with athletes, pharmacy students, and ambitious Communications majors, about needing to be intentional with what we think about, because life is too short and we only have so much time. No matter how busy life gets, we should never be too busy to wonder about these questions of life, Why are we here? Who created everything? Can I really only be a collection of atoms? Amidst all the background noise of the city, if we have this mindset, we can’t help but want to stop every single person on the street and disrupt their lives to ask them these important questions.

When I look at the city, I see all the achievements of man. I see the grand skyscrapers, the grand cars, the grand apartments, the grand restaurants, the grand lifestyle. All this worldly grandness also points to another grandness, which is the grand feeling of restlessness, emptiness, tiredness. No amount of achievements can cover our ultimate failure though – our  sinful nature, and this constant struggle of masking it is what causes all the restlessness, emptiness, and tiredness. Jesus said, Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will not pass away [Matthew 24:35]. Jesus gave us something worth thinking about, because it is the only thing that won’t pass away. His sacrifice for me won my soul, my heart, and my mind.

 

Jesus, You have won me. You have broken every chain with love and mercy. You triumphed over death and You are worthy of glory and praise. [‘You Have Won Me’ – Bethel Music]

Leave a Reply

