Life | No. 7

If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have given you an example, that you also should do just as I have done to you. Truly, truly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master, not is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. [John 13:14-16]

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to volunteer at a carnival for the homeless, and my friends and I signed up to be feet washers, since the opportunity to do such a humbling task rarely, if ever, comes up. The past two weeks have been a period of trivial deliberation, as I was unsure if I would go to this event or to my mandatory internship training, as I believed I would get fired if I didn’t go. Ultimately, I still chose this event anyway, at the expense of my professional character and potential career, because I cannot pass up such opportunities for personal growth. Ultimately, the things of this world are not as important as we make them out to be.

I have to view the event of feet washing through two lenses, from my lens, as well from the perspective of the person whose feet I’m washing. What might be a humbling experience for me could be an uncomfortable, even humiliating, experience for him/her. Although I can’t necessarily understand what they’re going through, I am so appreciative of them giving me the privilege and opportunity to serve them in this manner. Towards the end of the day, I ended up having a spiritual conversation with one of the men I served, and we talked about how everything we do is an outflow of our love for God, both in showing others love and even allowing other people to love us. I was just astounded at how easily we could have a conversation like this, really only because of our bond with God. His openness to share with me has emboldened me to want to seek more outreach opportunities like this and be able to have conversations about strangers things besides just the weather and traffic.

I have no idea if I’ll get fired or not. I know one of my supervisors is not happy with me. But ultimately, I’m not living to please other people. I live to serve my Master.

 

Lost in the shallows amidst fear and fog. Your truth is the compass that points me back north. Jesus, my Captain, my soul’s trusted Lord, all my allegiance is rightfully Yours. [‘Captain’ – Hillsong]

Leave a Reply

