Life | No. 10

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God. [James 1:19-20]

Yesterday, one of the sprinklers went off on my dorm floor, and the water ended up reaching my room. I didn’t think much of it at first when I heard, because my roommates told me our room’s floor wasn’t entirely soaked yet. My guitar, the one item I thought might get ruined, was untouched (honestly it was saved by the grace of God). We were still able to laugh about this whole situation back then. I just grabbed some essentials and left them in a friend’s room, in case we couldn’t go back to our room for the night.

Later in the day, we were told we actually needed to move out of our room completely because all the carpet and furniture needed to be replaced. After being assigned temporary rooms for the next 3-4 weeks, we packed up literally everything, as if this was finals week already and we were moving out for the summer. But we weren’t. We were only moving out because of a faulty sprinkler system.

Anger quickly flooded my heart. I kept asking myself why this was happening to us right in the middle of midterm season, why we had to move everything out (we all have a lot of stuff, and a fridge and filing cabinet that needed to be moved, so it was quite an ordeal). I just didn’t understand, so my natural default of anger just slipped out. On Friday night though, we went through James 1, and I could feel God trying to convict me over and over again through this experience that I am quick to anger, which does not produce righteousness. When I’m quick to anger, it’s because I’m entitled. It’s because I am not thinking things through. It’s because things are not going how I would want them to, if things were actually under my control. But life is never under my control.

It never ceases to amaze me how well the Bible understands our condition, our tendencies. God always also seems to speak to us in the right moments, reminding us of really how much we need to be saved.

 

Cause I need You Jesus to come to my rescue. Oh where else can I go. There is no other name by which I am saved. [‘Rescue’ – Desperation Band]

Leave a Reply

