Life | No. 11

People told me sophomore year of college would be tough. I always laughed. I always thought I could overcome anything. That’s just pride though. We think we can do anything, be anything, if we just try hard enough. Sophomore year is one of those things where you think, “How hard can it really be?” before you get kicked in the face by life. I have no idea how sophomore year would’ve been without God in my life. I shudder to even consider the possibility.

This quarter has been one of much loss for me. I think as I’ve gotten older, it seems that another person in my life passes away every so often. Perhaps I just didn’t notice death as much when I was younger, but this quarter I can’t stop thinking about it. My grandma passed away around a month ago, and a couple days ago I found out that someone from my home church passed away. With both of their passings, I found myself initially not really sure of how to feel, but several hours later, I would be uncontrollably sobbing. I’m still unsure of how to process death and how to grieve. Death is just not natural, which is why it’s been so hard for me to process the concept of separation.

In times like these, I am so grateful for the hope that we do have in the gospel that we can be reunited in heaven. Like with many other moments in my life, God always prompts me with a song that reminds me He’s always been there through every moment, both the highs and lows. “Into the Deep” by Citipointe Live was just what I needed. His love has been the flood of comfort I’ve needed, and will ever need.

 

When my hands stretch out towards the sky, You never let me run dry. When I dive into the depths of You, my heart is made anew, Jesus in You. 

Your love is a flood and I’m caught in the current of Your living waters. It’s Your love, it’s Your love. Your presence is a flood and I’m caught in the wonder. You have taken me over. You have won my heart. 

[“Into the Deep” – Citipointe Live]

Leave a Reply

