Identity

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 11.02.45 PM

Hello again. It’s been a while; last week I was moving back home for the summer, and this past week has just been a whirlwind of starting a new job and trying to settle into my life here at home again. There really is no place quite like home.

A couple days ago, I started a summer discipleship course. One of the speakers honed in on how we must know our true identities and be able to hear God in order to grow closer to Him. This world constantly tries to tell me that I am not worthy of being loved, that no one could ever or should ever love me. This world tells me that unless I’m a doctor, engineer, lawyer, or successful businessman, I’m useless. But Jesus wants us to get rid of these false identities immediately, because they’re not real. This is not who we truly are. Yes, to the world, we may be all these things, but to God, He has given us and created us with a much greater, much more real identity. I may be broken, but He still receives me, pushing my brokenness aside, and gives me a new name. God calls us the opposite of what the world calls us, because He wants us to be lifted up. He calls me beloved.

Will You call me child
When I tell You lies?
‘Cause all I know
Is how to cry.

‘Cause I am a sinner,
If it’s not one thing, it’s another.
Caught up in words,
Tangled in lies. 
You are a Savior
And You take brokenness aside,
And make it beautiful.  Beautiful. 

[‘Brokenness Aside’ – All Sons & Daughters]

Leave a Reply

